Key players within the Tasmanian planning system

Tasmanian Planning System Minister for Planning Provides overarching direction, and articulates the Government’s vision for the planning system Planning Policy Unit  Builds and maintains the planning system and the State content of the planning scheme Tasmanian Planning Commission Local Councils  Spatially apply zones and overlays, assess development applications under the planning scheme, and enforce planning rules Resource Management and Planning Appeals Tribunal Resolves appeals against councils’ planning decisions State Agencies  and Ministers Housing, Roads, Transport, Health, Education Support the planning system at the policy and strategic level

Minister for Local Government and Planning

The Minister for Planning provides overarching direction, and articulates the Government’s vision for the planning system.

The Minister for Planning also has a range of powers and responsibilities including:

State Planning Office (Department of Premier and Cabinet)

The State Planning Office:

  • develops, maintains and reviews the state-wide elements of Tasmania’s planning system
  • develops and reviews legislation relating to the Government’s planning reform program and the planning system generally
  • provides strategic planning advice in relation to Tasmania’s planning system to the Minister, State agencies and other stakeholders

Tasmanian Planning Commission

The Tasmanian Planning Commission is an independent body that performs a range of statutory and advisory roles. The Commission:

TASCAT - Resource and Planning Stream

The Tasmanian Civil & Administrative Tribunal (TASCAT) - Resource and Planning Stream hears and determines appeals and applications arising from a wide range of administrative acts and decisions. The Tribunal, within the limits set out in LUPAA, can also make orders enforcing observance of the planning scheme.  It also has powers under other Acts to issue enforcement orders related to breaches of environmental legislation; strata title regulations and a range of other legislative requirements.

Councils (Planning Authorities)

Local government in Tasmania consists of 29 councils, each responsible for their own municipal area.

Councils provide a range of services to their local communities including the regulation of planning and building. Within the land use planning system councils act as planning authorities and have prescribed functions, including:

  • making most of the statutory planning decisions that affect their municipal area in accordance with what the planning scheme allows
  • preparing local strategic plans to inform their Local Planning Schedules and give effect to the regional strategies
  • spatially applying the State’s planning rules in their Local Provisions Schedules
  • assessing applications and issuing permits
  • enforcing planning requirements

To determine the municipal area and planning controls for a particular location, please refer to iPlan.  This online resource provides:

  • digital planning schemes
  • interactive planning scheme maps
  • details on upcoming hearings and assessments undertaken by the Tasmanian Planning Commission

State Agencies

State agencies:

  • operate within the planning system as proponents of developments such as roads, bridges and schools
  • inform the policy and strategic parts of the system through their Ministers and the State Planning Inter-departmental Committee
  • act as the regulators for some areas of development assessment such as threatened species